The vice president of human resources at Climpson Industries sent the following recommendation to the company s president In an effort to improve our employees productivity we should implement electronic monitoring of employees Internet use from their wor

The vice president of Climpson Industries claims that in order to improve employee productivity, the company should monitor employees' internet use. He suggests that workers who use the internet on their workstations for personal or recreational purposes should be punished, so workers would spend more time on work and achieve higher productivity. However, to properly evaluate this claim, some assumptions need to be examined.

Firstly, the vice president states that installing internet use monitoring software could reduce the time workers spend on personal or recreational use. Yet, this claim depends on the assumption that the device at each worker's workstation is the only device they can use during work. If workers can also use smartphones or smartwatches, they might just shift their time using the computer on the workstation to their own phones or watches, doing things that are not related to work. If this assumption is not verified, it would be hard to evaluate this claim.

Secondly, the assumption that reducing internet use time for personal or recreational purposes can improve worker productivity might not always be true. If a worker focuses on work for a long period of time, they will need some time to rest and relax, otherwise they might start to get distracted or tired. Under these circumstances, not only would work productivity drop, but the quality of work might also be affected. Therefore, if this situation happens, then installing the software would not be a good choice.

Lastly, the claim depends on the assumption that the software is well-designed and cannot be easily broken. For instance, if this company consists of skillful computer programmers, then the monitoring software could be easily broken down by the workers. Furthermore, if the detection system is not accurate enough, it might cause many problems. For example, if there is a worker in the purchasing department ordering toners for the company online, and the system detects that they are doing something not related to work and they get punished wrongly. Or someone accidentally clicks on an advertisement on a website while they are doing some research for work. Hence, if the monitoring software is not well-designed, the claim would not stand.

In conclusion, the recommendation is flawed due to some unwarranted assumptions. If the vice president could provide more evidence about the assumptions above, such as a survey about employees' usage of cellphones at work or reports from other companies that have used the software, then it would be possible to thoroughly evaluate the recommendation.