The vice president of human resources at Climpson Industries sent the following recommendation to the company's president."In an effort to improve our employees' productivity, we should implement electronic monitoring of employees' Internet use from their

The author argues here that in order to improve the overall profits of Climpson Industries the company ‘s president should implement the electronic monitoring of employees Internet use.

Thus I generally disagree with the author’s opinion and despite the several facts presented by the author, the argument contains a number of logical loopholes that succeed in making the argument sound unconvincing.

Firstly this is merely an assumption made by the author without much solid grounds when he claims that the employees use internet for their recreational activities. It could be a possibility that a few of them may use it but most may do other activities for recreation for an example going for a coffee break or discussing some sports with their collegues. Hence there is a chance that even by monitoring their Internet use nothing significant would be achieved as they might be wasting time in other activities. Thus it makes it a weak claim as the author never explicitly mentioned that the employees only use the internet for recreation.

Secondly, the author readily claims that by preventing employees from wasting time on the internet and cutting their recreational activities on it their productivity will increase. This is not the case as a very few humans can work for very long durations without any breaks. It’s natural for our mind to get tired and at times becomes neccessary to do some recreational activities so that you can get back to work. So by monitoring the employee ‘s internet use and punishing him if he or she uses it for recreation may increase the working hours but can affect the quality of work done by them which will eventually lead to less profit.

Lastly, the author cites that employees spend a lot of time playing games or shopping on the internet. Well there is a chance that they might be doing it when they don’t have any work to do right now or waiting for a task to complete so that they can progress ahead with their work. So his claim that they are wasting their time may not be true as they may engage in recreational activities but may work rest of their time and always leave office after completing their work for the day. This again is a weak claim as the author fails to demonstrate any correlation between recreational activities and the amount of work done by the employees.

Thus, in conclusion, the author’s argument is unpersuasive as it stands. To bolster it further the author must provide clear and concrete evidence perhaps by way of a detailed and reliable analysis. He should look into what are all the activities employees do for their recreation,How much cutting their recreation time would affect their performance,When do employees opt for such activities. Only after analyzing such details a clear judgment can be made.