The vice president of human resources at Climpson Industries sent the following recommendation to the company's president.

"In an effort to improve our employees' productivity, we should implement electronic monitoring of employees' Internet use from their workstations. Employees who use the Internet from their workstations need to be identified and punished if we are to reduce the number of work hours spent on personal or recreational activities, such as shopping or playing games. By installing software to detect employees' Internet use on company computers, we can prevent employees from wasting time, foster a better work ethic at Climpson, and improve our overall profits."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

To improve the work ethics , overall profits and prevent the employees from wasting time in office the vice president of human resources recommends to install spying software to track the internet usage of employees and hence , curb the potential recreational activities in office . Stated in this way the vice president’s recommendations fails to mentions several key factors on the basis of which it can be evaluated. However , the recommendation can be evaluated if the vice president can provide evidences on the three assumptions.

First of all , the vice president readily assumes that if the company applies such stringent policies to its employees , they will not retaliate and accept the companies policies as it is . It may the case that the employees feel that their privacy is compromised and they decide to leave the job . Furthermore , might be the need for recreational activities that the employees need to be engaged in after completing a certain amount of job and the company doesn’t provide such facilities so they are compelled to have such breaks on their own .

Secondly , the argument assumes that its workers are engaged in recreational activities during working hours only . It may be true that the employees engage in recreational activities during their lunch hours and may work diligently in their working hours . In that case the vice president’s recommendation will fall apart and the company will not make any significant profit increment by keeping an eye on the employees internet usage.

Finally , the argument does not take into account the cost of implementing an internet spyware and its correlation with the profit of company. It is possible that there are very few employees who work on the workstation provided by the company but many of the employees use mobile data for recreational activities during work hours . So even after implementing the software to detect the internet usage the company will be unable to prevent its employees from engaging in recreational activities during work .

In conclusion , the vice president’s recommendations , as it stands now is considerably flawed due to its reliance on unwarranted assumptions . If the vice president can provide evidences to substantiate the argument , only then the viability of the recommendations can be determined.