The vice president of human resources at Climpson Industries sent the following recommendation to the company's president.

"In an effort to improve our employees' productivity, we should implement electronic monitoring of employees' Internet use from their workstations. Employees who use the Internet from their workstations need to be identified and punished if we are to reduce the number of work hours spent on personal or recreational activities, such as shopping or playing games. By installing software to detect employees' Internet use on company computers, we can prevent employees from wasting time, foster a better work ethic at Climpson, and improve our overall profits."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The vice president of human resources at Climpson Industries recommends to the company’s president that to improve the productivity of employees, electronic monitoring of the internet use of employees should be implemented. He states that by installing software to detect employees’ internet use, less time will be wasted, better work ethic will be fostered and the overall profits of the company will be improved. However, his recommendation depends on three unwarranted assumptions that if proven true, will significantly hinder the validity of his recommendation.

Firstly, the author assumes that the employees of Climpson Industries use their company issued computers for personal or recreational activities such as shopping or playing games. Perhaps the employees at Climpson Industries all have personal computers which they use for activities that are not work related. In the era of smart phones, it is also possible that the employees do all their personal or recreational activities on their smart phones. If these scenarios prove true, then the author’s recommendation will be ineffective as the installed software will have nothing to detect.

Secondly, the author assumes installing software to detect employees’ internet use will prevent employees from wasting time and foster a better work ethic. Perhaps the employees at Climpson Industries are usually derelict and dilatory in performing their duties. This may be as a result of incompetence or sheer indifference to the work assigned. In this scenario, installing software to detect employees’ internet use will have a negligible effect on time management and work ethic. A training on time management is more likely to give the desired result than installing software to detect internet use.

Finally, the author assumes that Climpson Industries will not incur additional costs for the procurement and installation of the software. It is likely that a sophisticated software like the one recommended by the vice president will be expensive. The high price is this software may significantly increase the company’s expenditure and reduce their overall profit. If this is true, then the author’s conclusion that installing software to detect employees’ internet use will increase the company’s overall profit holds no water

In conclusion, the vice president’s recommendation that the installation of software to detect employees’ internet use at Climpson Industries will prevent employees from wasting time, foster a better work ethic and improve the company’s overall profit may be true. However, as it stands now, his recommendation rests on three unwarranted assumption which significantly hinders its validity. To increase the persuasiveness of his argument, he needs to address the assumptions cited above.