The following appeared in the summary of a study on headaches suffered by the residents of Mentia.

"Salicylates are members of the same chemical family as aspirin, a medicine used to treat headaches. Although many foods are naturally rich in salicylates, for the past several decades, food-processing companies have also been adding salicylates to foods as preservatives. This rise in the commercial use of salicylates has been found to correlate with a steady decline in the average number of headaches reported by participants in our twenty-year study. Recently, food-processing companies have found that salicylates can also be used as flavor additives for foods. With this new use for salicylates, we can expect a continued steady decline in the number of headaches suffered by the average citizen of Mentia."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the argument, the author concludes that there will be a decrease in the number of headaches suffered by the average citizens of Mentia. He arrives at this conclusion by citing evidence such as the rise in the commercial use of salicylates and the fact that Salicylates is in the same chemical family with aspirin (known to cure headaches). The evidence provided, if true, might render the argument valid. However, there are three unwarranted assumptions in the author’s argument that hinder its persuasiveness.

Firstly, the author assumes that because Salicylates are members of the same chemical family as aspiring, Salicylates and aspiring must do the same work of curing headache, and this might not be true. It is possible that Salicylates, though the same chemical member with aspirin, have a different function on the human body. It is possible that the effect of Salicylates is to reduce anxiety or perform something different from the ones performed by aspirin. We might predict or look at it that different members of chemical family have their distinct role in the human body. For instance, someone might aspirin to heal headache, and take Salicylates to reduce the possible side-effects of aspirin. If this situation proves to be true, then the author’s argument is significantly weakened.

Secondly, the author assumes that the chemical in Salicylates will retain its potency even after being used as food preservatives, and this might not be true. Even if we concede that Salicylates contains chemicals that can cure headaches, there is no guarantee that the chemicals will retain their effectiveness when used as food preservatives. It is possible that the kind of chemicals present in Salicylates are those that only function in high density, and thus by including in food preservation might weaken the density and affect the chemical bonds necessary for it to properly operate. It is also possible that there are other chemicals present in what is being preserved that might prevent Salicylates from being effective. If any of these scenarios proves to be true, then the author’s argument does not hold water.

Finally, the author assumes that most people in the city of Mentia likes flavor additives in their foods, and this might be false. It is possible that the implementation of the new flavor additives in foods will lead to a decrease in the number of customers that purchase food in the company. Most people might not like the flavor, and might not get foods from the company because of the new flavor implementation. It is also possible that residents of Mentia loves to eat their foods unprocessed and unflavored. If any of these cases proves true, then the author’s argument is significantly weakened.

In conclusion, the author’s claim that there will be a substantial decrease in the number of headaches in Mentia is plausible. However, he needs to address the three unwarranted assumptions stated above so as to improve the persuasiveness of his claim.