The perceived greatness of any political leader has more to do with the challenges faced by that leader than with any of his or her inherent skills and abilities.

The measure of greatness in a political leader is largely determined by the seriousness of the problems that they face during their terms in office. Most histories are usually recorded in context of events in which the leaders play important roles. Most people need to have stores of inherent skill and ability in order to become a political leader. However, history remembers those who lived in great times more fondly than those who did not. The likes of Nelson Mandela, Nnamdi Azikwe, and Abraham Lincoln are perceived as great leaders largely because of the times in which they lived.

Nelson Mandela is often considered the greatest of all African presidents and is recognized in different continents of the world, with statues of him at the Parliament Square, London, at the United Nations Headquarters, NewYork and at various significant places in South Africa. Nelson is, however, considered great largely because he faced a great challenge- racial segregation and apartheid in South Africa. He is known for successfully leading the resistance to South Africa’s policy of Apartheid in the 20th century, during which he was sent to jail at Robben Island Prison. Mandela is also known to be the first black president of South Africa and has won the Nobel prize for peace in the early 90’s. However, another South African president to win the Nobel prize for peace was F.W. de Klerk, yet there are no statues or monuments to Klerk in London or New York.

Nnamdi Azikwe was another significant leader who led his country, Nigeria, to independence from the British government. His talents are however not what made his perceived greatness. In this age, few people remember whether he was particularly smart, an orator or a good arbitrator. Most remember that he led NCNC, a political party in Nigeria which he founded, into the important 1959 federal elections which preceded Nigerian Independence and therefore perceived him a great leader.

An argument that these individuals and other men and women were already great before history gave them challenges may arise. While it is impossible to prove or defend this argument, they must have in fact had certain skills or talents but most examples point to the fact that the times they lived and challenges faced make a leader. If the times were switched, we may have had statues of F.W. de Klerk instead.

In summary, it is true that the perceived greatness of a political leader is more due to great challenges than inherent ability. These examples serve as proof. All of them were talented but are not remembered as great leaders because of their skills.