The perceived greatness of any political leader has more to do with the challenges faced by that leader than with any of his or her inherent skills and abilities.

Write a response in which you discuss either agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not be true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Leadership is the ability of a person to lead himself and his people and also take the initiative to solve problems for his people either by himself or with the help of his people. Great leadership comes with influence. A great political leader is usually one that has done something extraordinary for his people. One of the most crucial ways to measure this is by the number of difficult situations that the leader has helped his people reason. Abilities and Skills are just mere advantages that can help resolve the difficult situations; thus, if there are no critical situations to resolve, a leader might as well not have need for the skills.

Nelson Mandela; a political activist for many years and also the former president of South Africa is well known throughout Africa for the number of challenges he had to face while striving for the independence of his people. He was imprisoned for several years, constantly humiliated and also had to lose his wife in the struggle for his country’s independence from colonial masters. His name is revered everywhere even in his death for the number of challenges he had to face. If his country were to list great political leaders in his country, his name would never miss the list even in Africa. Indeed, there must have been presidents after him with who had inherent skills and abilities but are not were known nor considered great because they had no difficult situations to challenge. This indicates the role that challenges play in the quality of great leadership.

Aside from political leaders, it is a known fact that people who do the bare minimum are hardly noticed or even celebrated. We have people in every field who have the skills but still are not considered great or even noticed. Scientists like Isaac Netwon, Avogrado, Albert Einstein are still considered great scientist because of the quality and influence their research has in our world.

One might argue that problem solving skills among other skills and also the ability to manage people are very crucial for effective leadership. Despite the need for these skills, leaders need good opportunities to put them to good use. If there are no extraordinary issues at hand, people would still consider anything done by a political leader as the bare minimum.‘It is through challenges that we know a man’s might’ is an adage by Yoruba people of Nigeria. This adage simply means that a person’s level of greatness can only be determined through the challenges a person face and how he overcomes them.