Schools should do more to prepare students for non academic aspect of adulthood

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position

Adulthood comes with a lot of challenges ranging from getting good jobs to proper management of finances and businesses, even as personal as relationships with the other sex. Many institutions are responsible for the development of a child such as the parents, church, schools and many others. Students spend most of their formative years in school, spending most of their time there and sharing the remaining time with these other places. Based on the fact that students use most of their time in school, I’m of the believe that schools should do more to prepare students for the non academic aspect of adulthood.

As subjects such as mathematics are crucial and increase the reasoning abilities of students, they are not directly applied in adulthood. For example learning calculus and constantly iterating and differentiating does not directly apply to getting jobs through calculus. Students need to know how to apply that reasoning ability in real life. Employers these days look beyond the academic qualifications and actually want to know what you can bring to the table.

Also, engaging students in extra curricular activities such as debate, sports, school clubs and the likes have a way of developing them. I was in my school’s literary and debating club where we often debated on topics in front of the whole school, read news and also present article readings. These activities made me learn and research in other to know more about the topic I’m given. I also had to rehearse to avoid mistakes during my presentations and this increased my boldness as I had to speak in front of over 500 students. This particular club improved my public speaking skills and has really help in convincing employers during my job interviews, a bid for a job and even many others. Other students can even take interest in sports and excel well at this. These non academic skills make them more marketable while job hunting as they could have a wide range of options to choose from. If school can invest time in preparing students along these non academic line, it would be of great help to the students.

Schools also cannot do it all. Other institutions also need to take it upon themselves to prepare these students for adulthood. Parents can help in developing the emotional intelligence of these students by teaching them how to handle situations even as trivial as a fight with a sibling. All these contribute to what can help in relating with people at work places in adulthood.