Vitamin A deficiency

The following argument is flawed for numerous reasons. Primarily, the argument is based on the unwarranted assumption that the solution to deficiency in vitamin A among the people of Tagus is to engineer a new breed of millet that is very expensive but high in vitamin A,rendering its main conclusion, that Tagus is an impoverished nation, invalid.

The argument fails to provide any justification,on how their government would fund this new breed of millet despite their poor economic situation.For one, the farmers need to be paid in order to embrace the farming of this new variety of millet. Had the argument provided information regarding how the government intends to solve their economic situation that can enable them fund for this new breed of millet adequately without it worsen the already poor economic situation.

The argument also leaves many other unanswered questions, if the soil in Tagus is fertile for this new breed of millet to aid its rapid germination so as to combat the deficiency of vitamin A that the people of Tagus are struggling with.

Finally, the argument claims without warrant that this new breed of millet is the only way to deal with the deficiency of vitamin A among the people since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, yet has not been able to solve the deficiency of vitamin A, the argument is still lacking because it has failed to consider other foods that are rich in vitamin A that would eliminate the deficiency of vitamin A, that is equally cheap and would not worsen their already impoverished situation.

Because the argument makes several unwarranted assumptions, it fails to make a convincing case that promoting this new type of millet would eventually eliminate the deficiency of vitamin A among the people of Tagus.