“We must reduce overhead here at the café. Instead of opening at 6 a.m. weekdays, we will now open at 8 a.m. On weekends, we will only be open from 9 a.m. until 4 p.m. The decrease in hours of operations will help save money because we won’t be paying for utilities, employee wages, or other operating costs during the hours we are closed. This is the best strategy for us to save money and remain in business without having to eliminate jobs.”

The argument presented is about a way to reduce the overhead costs of a Juniper Cafe. It suggests that change in the cafe timings will lead to the reduction of the overhead costs being incurred to that cafe. Certainly, argument is bound with unjustified assumptions with no concrete evidence provided for any one of them. Not only lack of justifications might question the authenticity of the prediction suggested but also severely undermines the argument as a whole. In order for the argument to be validated, certain evidence needs to be suggested which enhances the argument's authenticity.

The first and foremost assumption made by the argument is the relation between the cafe timings and overhead costs. It assumes that there is certain correlation between cafe timings and overhead costs of the cafe. The assumption of lessening the overhead costs with decrease in operational hours is completely unjustified. What if the operational hours has nothing to do with the overhead costs? What if the employees of the cafe are being paid huge amount of salaries which are completely inproportionate with respect to the cafe's profit? Even though if operational hours impacts the overhead costs, there can be a chance that cafe's operational hours already are minimal. If this is the case, then by further reducing the operational hours, it further aggravates the situation by amplifying the overhead costs. So, evidence about the relation between overhead cost and operational hours needs to be suggested and also mentioning that operational hours are the sole reason that overhead costs is being incurred.

Secondly, the argument assumes that the timings the prediction proposes are completely conducive to the customers visting the cafe and also to the personnel working in the cafe. What if most of the customers of the cafe visit early in the morning maybe before 6 a.m.? What if the customers base of the cafe consists mostly of the members who visit the cafe only after their work which is usually around 5 in the evening? The propsoed timings is not at all appropriate for the most of the customers which results in further deteriorating the situation of the cafe with overheading costs ballooning. What if the personnel working in the cafe are not comfortable with the proposed change in the timings? If personnel starts quitting the cafe due to this change, then administration of the cafe needs to invest more time in recruiting new staff. This can be a setback for already deteriorated condition of the cafe. Thus, in order to corroborate this assumption further, evidence about the customer timings, percentages of the customers visiting the cafe during the propsed timings and also about the personnel satisfaction about the change needs to be mentioned.

All in all, argument is riddled with underlying assumptions which are completely baseless and needs to be substantiated. The argument needs to be further elaborated by providing all the aforementioned evidences which act as bulwark to the proposed prediction's authenticity.