Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive design pattern have

previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric

village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the

Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a

“Palean” basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from

Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans

could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found.

Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean

The facts presented in the argument states that in the prehistoric times, Palean baskets had a distinguished design pattern and were made by the people residing in the village of Palea. However, this belief no longer holds true as archaelogists have found a Paleon basket in Lithos, a village across the Brim river from Palea.

The author is making the readers believe that these baskets were also used by the people of Lithos and it could be possible that they have made it. This is a premature assumption as the fact is being put out by taking only one basket into the consmideration. One of the alternative options is to carry more research in the village of Palea and nearby areas to prove this fact. Also, the author mentions about only one way to reach the Lithos through the Brim river. There could be other ways to reach the village of Lithos which should be discovered.

The author assumes that the origin of the baskets is not uniquely Paleon. This statement contradicts words as no Paleon boats were found in the Brim river which weakens the argument significantly. There seems be not enough evidences which could prove that the origin of the baskets is not only Palea.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to offer more evidence (perhaps in the form of a systematic research study) then it will be possible to fully evaluate that the baskets are not uniquely Paleon and they were made by people of nearby areas.