Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archa

According to the article, the woven baskets found in the immediate vicinity were thought to have only been made by the Palean people. However, the another Palean basket was found in an ancient village across the Brim River, which is very deep and broad. Since archaelogist could not find a boat, they have concluded that the baskets were not unique to the Palean people.

However, this statement could be further weakened by the fact that rivers do not stay consistent over time. It is likely that while the Palean people were still alive the river could have been skinner and shallower. Furthermore, the river could have periods where it would have dried up or frozen. Thus, the Palen people could still cross the river without having to create boats.

Additionally, the paragraph states that "a Palean basket" was found in Lithos. It could be likely that the basket could have floated to the other side of the river in a storm or other natural event and then been found by someone from Lithos. Finding one basket is not sufficient evidence to refute the claim that the basket is unqiue to the Palen people. Thus, the basket design could still solely be Palean.

The arguement could be strengthened if the Palean and Lithos people were never in contact with each other and if more baskets were found in Lithos. By finding baskets with the same design in more than one location would put some doubt into the true origins of the basket.

In conclusion, the current size of the river and the lack of boats is not sufficient to conclude that the baskets are not solely Palean. In ancient times the river's size could be different making it possible for individuals in the two villages to communicate without having boats. The argument could be valid if the there were more baskets found in Lithos and the two villages were isolated from each other.