Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archa

The argument states that the Palean baskets which were previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea were not uniquely Palean To support this argument, the author points out that archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. However the author also points out that the Brim River being very deep and broad, and so the ancient Palean’s could have crossed it only by boat, and that no Palean boats were found by the archaeologists. However, the argument relies on a series of unsubstantiated assumptions, which render it unconvincing as it stands.

To begin with, the argument unfairly assumes that since the palea people were not found to possess a boat, they could not have crossed the brim river. However, the author provides no other evidence that this is the case. To the extent that there was no way that the Palean basket to reach the other side of the Brim River, the author's argument that this proves that the Palean basket was not uniquely Palean would be undermined.

Secondly, even if palea people were not found to possess a boat .But the author provides no evidence to substantiate the assumption that the Brim River was deep and broad form the day of inception. Lacking such evidence, it is equally possible that the Brim River once was a narrow and shallow stream and crossing it would not have required any boat as such.

In sum, to state that Palean baskets which were previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea were not uniquely Palean relies on certain doubtful assumptions. To Convince me that the Palea baskets were not uniquely Palean, the author must provide clear statistical evidence that "Palean" basket which was discovered in Lithos was native to Lithos.To better evaluate the recommendation, I would need more information about the history of the brim river and its civilization and prove that the brim river was deep and broad from the inception.