Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author believes that Palean baskets are not only existed in Palean village since they also found a basket in Litho village, which were located around the Brim river. There are not any boats has been found. Therefore, the author concluded that Palean basket is not unique in Palean village due to the Brim river is too deep and wide to across by human without boats. Although it seems sensible, however, there are lots of unwarranted evidence exist in the author's conclusion.

First, the author supposes that the Brim river is extremely wide and deep, but we do not have enough information to support this conclusion. Because of the changing of the earth in nature almost happening every second, it is hard to say that after a dozen of years, nature does not change at all. Therefore, an elaborate list of Brim river from the time when the Palean basket was created to recent time will be a supportive information for us to conclude the real situation of the Brim river in that time. If the lists conclude the Brim river is not that wide and deep, people can even cross it without any tools. Or even the Brim river did not exist at all at that time, then the author's conclusion will be weakened. on the contrary, the author's conclusion will be strengthened.

Second, let us assume the Brim river is indeed wide and deep as the author supposes. However, the evidence of using the boat is still not strong enough. First of all, the author said there are not any of boats have been found in Palean village, so there are some situation should be attent to, for example, we do not have enough information to judge that if the Litho village and the Brim river owned their boats. If the above information is proven, the author's conclusion will be weakened, otherwise, the author's conclusion will be strengthened.

Last, even the author's evidence of Brim river is wide and deep and people can only cross it by boat is right. We still have some extra information should be proved. For instance, if these two villages are included in a large trade internet, then it is possible for them to convey the basket from Palean village to Litho village by the big trade internet. Furthermore, we can not exclude the situation of using other transportation to convey the basket. If any of the above evidence is proved, the author's conclusion will be weakened, otherwise, the author's conclusion will be strengthened.

To sum up, the author's conclusion does make sense to a large extent, however, there is still some extra information should be purposed to evaluate the author’s claim.