"Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

Further evidence and logial conclusions should be made before evaluating that the baskets were not uniquely Palean. It is stated whether other tribes lived in the vicinity, if the distinct pattern was common among the prehistoric village of that time, or even if the Palean people needed a boat to cross the river, so the conclusion that the baskets were not Palean is fallible.

The statement concludes that because no Palean boats were found to evidence that the Paleans crossed the river to Lithos, the baskets with distinct patterns could not have been theirs. The fact that no boats were found does not necessarily mean that no boats were used. If the Paleans did in fact use boats to cross the river, it is not necessary that those boats stood the test of time to survive centuries later. This weakens the argument that the baskets were not uniquely Palean. Furthermore, it is not necessary that the Paleans did not cross the "deep and broad" river to Lithos if no boats were found. The phrase "deep and braod" is quite vague. If the river was not so deep and broad that the Paleans couldn't easily cross it by foot, then they would not have even needed boats, rendering the lack of boat evidence irrelevant to the Palean basket argument. But, maybe the river was in fact so deep and broad that it was impossible to journey by foot. The Paleans could have perhaps reached Lithos by foot, and therefore would not have needed the river for traveling. This would again weaken the argument that the baskets were not uniquely Palean.

The statement futher assumes that because the baskets were found in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea, they were believed to be made only by the Paleans. This perhaps may not be true if it is discovered that other tribes lived within the vicinity during or after the Paleans did. If so, then the notion that the baskets could have only been made by the Paleans is erroneaous and therefore the evidence further strengthens the argument that they could not have been uniquely Palean. Additionally, if the Paleans did not in fact use boats, cross the river, or travel to Lithos, but lived a unique and sole existence in Palea, and similar baskets were in fact found in Lithos, then perhaps the patterns on the baskets was common for that time period and relative region. This would elaborate the argument that the baskets were not uniquely Palean.

All in all, the assumptions made to reach the argument that the Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean are erroneous as further insight is needed whether or not Paleans used a method of travel other than boating to reach Lithos, whether the river was truly as "broad and deep" as to be intractable, and whether other groups lived in the vicinity and used the same basket patterns. Without this crucial information, the logical conclusions made to reach the argument are not well-founded or profound.