Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Your task

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author’s conclusion that, as there were no Palean boats found, woven baskets are not uniquely Palean is a flawed one. To draw that conclusion, evidence is needed about whether Palean people shared the information, about how to make those unique woven baskets, with the Lithos people. Further, evidence regarding the level of the water in Brim River in the times when there is less rainfall and life of Brim River.

Firstly, evidence regarding whether there is any sharing of basket’s manufacturing information by the Palean people to the Lithos people is needed because as you know people wanted to share the information of their new discoveries with other people in ancient times. If Palean people shared the information to Lithos people, then they know the manufacturing procedure and this is the reason for the discovery of the woven baskets in the Lithos village. This weakens the argument.

Secondly, furthermore, the evidence about the level of water in Brim River during the times, when there is less rainfall, is also necessary, for when there is no water or level of water is low, people can cross the rivers by themselves and the boats are not required. What if some Palean people, who know how to make those unique woven baskets, crossed the Brim River and settled there, then this can also be another reason for the discovery of Woven baskets in the Lithos village. This weakens this argument as well.

Thirdly, there is another evidence to be mentioned about the life of the Brim River, for some rivers stop flowing after some time. If the Brim river stopped flowing between the Lithos and Palean villages, then the some of Palean people could have crossed the river easily without the boats and settled there, which also weakens the argument.

This argument could be strengthened if there is any evidence that proves that the level of water is sufficient to make the crossing impossible and Lithos people had shared the manufacturing information with Palean people actually. However, in its current form, this argument is a flawed one.