Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

This argument concludes that the Palea baskets were not uniquely Palea. To support his/her contention he/she provides various evidence. But, one can spot numbers of flaws in the writer's argument through a careful analysis of this analytical piece.

The writer begins with the statement: Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palea people. Here the writer fails to provide how woven baskets found in Palea are unique to other woven baskets. Moreover, he does not provide who believed that they were made only by Palean people, whether it is his/her belief or archaeologist’s belief? In addition, there are possibilities that the people of the neighboring village may have made these baskets.

The argument state that only one basket found in Lithos which is identical to "Palean" which may be possible that someone from Palea village would have dropped basket in the Brim River and it somehow succeeded to cross the Brim River. This way it is possible that not Lithos people might have made such a woven basket rather it would have been reached to Lithos accidentally.

Another problem is that an author unnecessarily assumes that the Brim River was very deep and broad in ancient time because it is deep and broad in present time. In the ancient time, the Brim River might have narrow and dry. If this is the case then some people from Palea could have crossed the Brim River. Even we believe that the river was deep and broad in ancient time also, an author's contention that they could have crossed the Brim River only by boat further weakens his/her argument. In an Ancient people of that region might have built a bridge using wood to cross the river.

No Palean boats have been found till date does not imply that they have not made boats. The boats might have been destroyed by flood in the Brim River. There is also the possibility that the Palea boat may be found in the future. The writer does not provide information about whether the people of Lithos had made boats or not. There is also the possibility that the people of Lithos village might have crossed the river using their boats and bought woven baskets form Palean people.

In sum, the writer's evidence provides little support to the writer's argument that the Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean. To further bolster he must provide better evidence. He must clear doubts such as whether the river was deep and wide in ancient time, whether Lithos people had made boats or not.