Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The following argument is flawed due to a number of reasons. The non-discovery of boats at Palea village should not be the main factor to rule out whether the Palean basket was unique to the Palea civilization or not.

First and foremost, the argument very vaguely describes that woven baskets with a “distinctive pattern” can only be associated to Palean civilization. However, there is no further information on what is this distinctive pattern that is being referred here. Is it the craftsmanship, or the shape, the material, the geometric patterns or life-like drawings that would set apart the woven baskets and associate them to Palean civilization? Thus, the argument would have been further strengthen had there been a clear specification on the exact pattern that sets apart the Palean woven baskets than any other woven baskets found in other civilization such as Indus, Mohenjo Daro etc.

Further to the above, the argument also fails to mention the exact measure of the total distance that might comprise the “immediate vicinity” of the Palea village. Is the writer considering a vicinity of 5000m or 10000m? It can be any number! There aren’t enough information to assess how far is Lithos village and the Brim river from Palea. If there is no measure of the distance that constitutes the vicinity of the Palean village, then it cannot be independently assessed whether Lithos is outside of the vicinity of Palea, such that the discovery of Palean woven basket in Lithos renders the baskets off its exclusivity to the Palean civilization. Therefore, a clear articulation of the measure of the vicinity of the Palean village would have helped to assess properly whether Lithos is actually outside of the vicinity of Palean village or not.

Lastly, the argument posits that Palean would not have been able to cross the Brim River since no boats were. However, if one thinks critically, a boat is not the only vehicle by which one may cross a river. The Paleans may have successfully built a bridge that would have allowed them to cross the river over foot. The bridge may not have been excavated yet by the archaeologists. Moreover, it is assumed that the depth and breadth of the Brim river prevented the Paleans to cross it. However, there is no information on exactly how deep and broad the river is to pose as a hindrance for the Paleans. Had the argument used additional factors such as weather conditions and measure of tides as preventing factors, it would have been much more stronger.

Because the argument makes several unwarranted assumptions, it fails to make a convincing case that since Palean woven baskets were found in Lithos, they are no more explicit to the Palean civilization