Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

Determining where historic artifacts originate is difficult to do. When it comes to figuring out where palean woven baskets came from, there are many pieces of evidence that should be considered. because they are found in two places, palea and lithos, and because the Brim river separates these villages, it is intruiging that further examination the woven basket's durability and the general landscape of the river should be performed.

While it is stated that the river is to deep and broad to swim across, and that there is no evidence of boats, travel through the river seems unlikely. perhaps the woven basket floated across the river though, and ended up in lithos. Depending how durable and dense the woven basket is, there may have been a possibility that a basket was dropped or left in the river and had the ability to float in the water until it was on land. this is can be an important piece of evidence to the historians.

Another piece of evidence that should be considered is the broader landscape of the river. perhaps there is a crossing south or north of where the villages are. The people of palea could use these crossings to go to lithos, barter the baskets they make, teach others how to make them, or sell them. Any area that is more shallow or rocky could allow for others to travel across the river.

By looking into these pieces of evidence, historians will gain a greater understanding of how the woven baskets ended up on both sides of the river. With baskets of a particular pattern, it is difficult to argue that two people of different places created the same work. because of this uncertainty, a conclusion of the woven basket's origination should stay undetermined until more evidence is found.