Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument states about the development of woven baskets made by Palean people in some places around Palea area. However, there are some flaws which cast doubt about the authenticity of the argument. If the author wants to strength the argument he should provide more strong evidence about it.

The first flaw occurs when the author states that the only people who developed baskets were those who were from Palea, then only these people had the skills to devise baskets. However, this contradicts with what he says that Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean because he acknowledges that there may be another village where people might have made baskets. In order not to be ambiguous, the argument would be unfeeble to say that Palean baskets were originated from Palea village.

The second flaw appears when the author talks about the discovery made by archaeologists in another village. If the baskets were made only by Palean people, there is no way to say that baskets were found in Lithos. This is due because there are no evidences of people crossing the Brim river due to the fact that there are not Palean boats found in that village.

To summ up, if the author of the argument wants to strengthen it, he should provide more strong evidences which validated it.