The following appeared in a memo from the director of student housing at Buckingham College.

"To serve the housing needs of our students, Buckingham College should build a number of new dormitories. Buckingham's enrollment is growing and, based on current trends, will double over the next 50 years, thus making existing dormitory space inadequate. Moreover, the average rent for an apartment in our town has risen in recent years. Consequently, students will find it increasingly difficult to afford off-campus housing. Finally, attractive new dormitories would make prospective students more likely to enroll at Buckingham."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The writer of the memo has proposed to build new dormitories for students. The argument for this position is based on the lacking of dormitory space which Buckingham will face the following years because of growing and current trends. While this argument seems convincing on first glance, there are significant underlying flaws that rise doubt about the author’s conclusion.

The author states about to build more dormitories due to the growing of the college and the current trends. However, there are no evidence to support such statement. One piece of evidence could be the number of students is increasing due to the increasing in number of courses. Buildings are being constructing for new courses. The tuitions are being vanished. Therefore, students are preferring to register for Bucking College than others.

The rising in renting an apartment does not justify the difficulties for students. Maybe some of them may afford off-campus housing. Besides, as it is not state the prices, or the amount of the rising, it is not possible to say that students will or not be able to afford it. Even if it is stated, for example the risen was 5%. Even with a little amount risen, there may be students who can afford it. However, if some ones cannot afford it, they will certainly look for houses to share rooms with other students. Furthermore, they can find houses near the college or pretty far from it.

What would make students to enroll at Buckingham would not be new dormitories. Instead, it would be new course offer by Buckingham. Similarly, it would be more laboratories with more equipments. A big library with many books would be another factor. And, a lower tuition offered by Buckingham.