Social media and the internet have bad effects on people as they make communications poor. Do you agree or disagree?

The internet and social media have destroyed people's life since they started existing. In my opinion, using them is a wasted time.

Firstly, in the past people used to have a better life than they are having currently. In the 40's or even 50's the only way of communication was by calling the friend in person, or better saying going to his/her house and speaking with him. At least it has worked to me. I remember that if I wanted to invite a friend to do any sort of activity, I had to go to his house.

Moreover, what it is happening recently is the fact that social media and the internet are eradicating our lives. We are spending more time with social media than family members. There are some situations when we are in a bar with friends and instead of talking to them we would rather use whatsapp to speak with them. Therefore, it is a very disgusting situation.

However, they are a faster way to communicate. When we are living abroad there is no better to speak with our family and friends than using those ones.

Finally, as it is said "time is money" we should try to save money and have a better life.