Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument

The prompt states that the ancient Palean boats; believed to have made by only Palean people in a distinctive style, are not unique. It presented this argument by referring to the findings of archaeologist who states that Lithos was a village which could not be travelled to by any method except boat, however, the non-existence of boats led them to conclude that different community used to manufacture these baskets as well. However, the argument does not make a cogent case since it is rife with holes and fissures. Before this argument can be properly evaluated, following evidences must be collected and verified.

First of all, were people from Lithos and Palean different? In other words, is it correct to assume that in ancient times there were two different communities? It may not likely so. For instance, it may happen that even before finding and naming these two communities by different name by archaeologist, they were actually same but no discovery was undertaken during pre-ancient times. Further, are “such baskets” that found recently paralleled to ancient times? It may likely that the basket found recently may have some features of that ancient baskets because people from these two communities might live nearby and might exchange their styles but if one may venture to match these two basket meticulously, he/she may find nuances in style, therefore, may render the ancient baskets still unique. If both the instance were true, then the argument is significantly weakened.

Secondly, had Paleans not travelled to Lithos in ancient times because the river was broad then and they were not having boats? In other words, is it justified to presume that these Paleans have never travelled and settled in Lithos because the river was broad and deep also then and they were not possessing any boat? It may be specious. For instance, it may happen that during ancient times the river was there but it was not that deep and broad but due to subsequent deforestation and habitation, it precipitated to deep and broad. Therefore, during ancient times they might be able to cross it even on foot because it was lacking in depth. Further, it may also found that they crossed it peripatetically and settled there and started to manufacture these baskets with their same unique style and not long ago, the archaeologist found the remnants of this community and given them different name though they were Paleans originally. If both the examples were holding the merit, then the argument does not hold the water.

Thirdly, does not finding any boat exemplify that they did not use it at all? In other words, is it prudent to conclude that since no boat has been found by archaeologist in a recent discovery, therefore, concluded that they did not use it? It may not be viable. For instance, it may happen that these Paleans might travel to Lithos and settled there by crossing the river by boat but as river became deep and broad, these boats might sink or even might flow to faraway places with the current. Further, it may also happen that these Paleans had boats and they used them to cross the river. Or it may also happen that they crossed the river with small size wooden made structure such as wooden poles tied together tightly and after crossing the river they untied them and carried them to Lithos for using them in huts. Unless the findings are fully representative and viable, it cannot be used to effectively support the argument.

The argument as it stands now, is considerably flawed since it relies heavily on several unwarranted assumptions. If the archaeologists are able to offer more evidence, perhaps in the form of original ethnicity of Lithos and mode of transport available to Paleans, then it will be possible to evaluate the viability of the argument.