Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

Here author makes argument based on substantial evidence and false assumptions that the palean baskets are actually palean because they were also found in the lithos, an ancient village found by the brim river and he made a conclusion that no boats were found between in the village or its vicinity. So, he concludes that these baskets are not made palean.

Firstly, The baskets found in palean and lithos are found to be same then there must be trade relations between these villages. these villages can also be inhabited by people of same clan and paleans could not have crossed the brim river this was quoted by the author which is based on false assumptions because if the village was of prehistoric then this river could not have been existed by then as rivers could change its course of direction or even if the river existed the paleans could have crossed it by some bridge that they could have built. there's also a possibility that a crossing might exist where the flow of the stream could be low and might have crossed it there.

Secondly, The palean and lithos villages must have been divided by decades and the baskets could have moved towards lithos in a flood by the time people of lithos may have been flourished. actually, if he provided us more evidence about the era that people in lithos and paleans lived in or if he could investigated another earthenware which could be similar to other fossils found in palean village or the timeline of the river brim.

if he could have provided the evidences that the have been stated above it could have strengthen his argument about the woven baskets or he could have changed his conclusion about the baskets if the above evidences and investigations have been done he could also change his conclusion.