Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and

explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author argues that on account of the fact that Palean baskets have recently been found in Lithos, a village thought to be inaccessible from Palea, the baskets are not unique to the village as has been considered before. This, however, is not a cogent argument on account of the reasons stated ahead.

The author assumes that since Lithos and Palea lie on the opposite banks of the river Brim, which is a wide and deep river, and since no Palean boats have been found yet, the Palean baskets were not unique to Palea. Thus, implying that the Palean people were unable to cross the river. The lack of findings of Palean boats does in no way, however, mean that they were unable to cross the river. What if they did have boats but these boats have just not been found yet? Or maybe, the Palean people were expert swimmers and thus could transport their goods in that manner. Further, the author mentions nothing about boats of the people of Lithos. What if they had boats and were the ones who traded with the people of Palea and took back the Palean baskets to their own settlements? With just one piece of incomplete evidence, it cannot be warranted that the Paleans never crossed the river Brim. Thus the author’s argument holds no water.

Further, the author makes no mention of the trading of Palean baskets by the ancient Paleans to other settlements. If the author had presented some evidence regarding this area, it would have further strengthened the argument. What if the Paleans traded these baskets with other cities near them as well? This would justify the fact - that since Palean goods have been found in other cities, Palea’s inhabitants generated wealth through the trading of these baskets and it would thus make sense that because the baskets have been found in Lithos, they could have been traded to them by the Paleans. Thus, without any evidence of this, the author’s argument gets weakened.

Moreover, the author does not mention anything about the materials from which the Palean baskets were made. What if the resources required were situated only in or in close proximity to Palea? What if no such resources were found near Lithos? Maybe there were some special ingredients found near Palea that enabled them to create these baskets. This would clearly point to the argument that Palean baskets are indeed unique to Palea. Thus, without enough data, the authors argument is undermined.

After the said analysis, the argument, as it is now, stands falsified. The author needs to provide more evidence in order to support their stand. Without the necessary proofs however, the argument holds no water.