Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument

The argument states that it was previously thought that a kind of woven basket was attributed to the prehistoric village of Palau. although after finding a similar basket in lithos village, it is now believed that the basket was unique to palean people. this argument engages in several logical fallacies and unsound reasoning. And fails to present enough factual evidence to be a truly compelling argument.

First, the absence of of palean boats does not mean that people didn’t own them. since through history they may have been decomposed in nature or moved to other places,leaving no vestige of themselves. Furthermore, the possibility remains that the people of lithos possessed boats and other means of transportation and were able to crossed the river.Thus taking the baskets with themselves to their village, through buying or just borrowing.Hence evidence is not enough to decide assuredly whether there was any boat or not

Second, baskets could have been displaced just by natural processes. such as floods, heavy storms and etc. How do we know that people have displocated them or say unarguably that lithos people wove those baskets themselves? Additionally, we do not know precisely that what was the depth of the river in the past, maybe it was too shallow that the inhabitants could cross by foot, therefore facilitating the transaction of everything including the baskets between people. So without accounting for this and other probable scenarios the author cannot conclude doubtlessly.

Third, the archeological changes of the place may not be completely discovered by the scientist. it is quite viable that both villages have been previously just one. since they belong too prehistoric period, it could possible that through many nathral progression, earth quakes or appearance of a river through, it has been divided into two parts and then recognized as two separate villages by the archeologists, this assumption if true can render the conclusion of the argument void

In summary, although the article may be correct. But it lacks seriously in reasoning and persuasiveness. without complete study and investigation of the regions by scientists and providing sufficient valid data the assumptions of the argument are deeply flawed.