Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus, it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Direction: Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument is flawed for numerous reasons. Primarily the argument is based on unwarranted assumption that the woven basket found in the vicinity of Palean village and the one found in Lithos is not uniquely owned or made by the Paleans . This assumption was made because archaeologists could not find a boat that is compulsory for movement from Palean through the deep brim river to Lithos. This assumption renders this argument invalid.

The argument fails to address or make any justification for the difference in time between when the woven basket was found in Palean and later when archaeologist found it in litho. Time changes things and the basket could have floated on brim river from Palean and moved to the litho by the river tide or current. People of Palean might even be great swimmers or fisher men who abandoned the woven basket on water. Argument would have been justified if my observation were confirmed not to be the case.

The argument also concluded that the woven basket is not uniquely Palean because the boat was not found. This conclusion is vague as there are no evidence to back that up. If the trademark, name plate or manufacturer’s unique identification details was on the basket, the conclusion that it not uniquely Palean would have been justified if the identification details of the owner can be confirmed.

Finally, the argument is flawed due to insufficient evidence to justify why the woven basket found was not uniquely Palean.