Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author of this article argues that since a type of basket that is originally thought to be produced solely in the prehistory village of P was found in L, the purportedly P basket are not uniquely P. To further support this argument, he emphasizes that as P and L are divided by the broad and deep River, the only means of transportation between them is by boat. Since boats have not been found in P thus the basket could not have been transported across the rover. Although the presence of an alleged P basket in L may indeed suggest that L also produced similar basket, more evidence is needed to help us evaluate the author’s conclusion. Close scrutiny reveals several key conclusion in his argument that lake critical support.

Firstly, evidence revealing river’s geologic past is critically needed to assist the evaluation of the author’s assertion that the river has always been deep ans broad and could only have been crossed by boat. Thus far, this assertion does not receive any support and could possibly be wrong, since geologic features could have changed over thousands of years. A long record of river sediments may help us determine the river’s history. If it shows the river was indeed broad and inaccessible when civilizations in P and L first developed and thrived, the author’s argument will be undoubtedly strengthened. If, however, it turns out that the river was a shallow creek or even did not come to existence at all when humans first settled in this region, then we must reject the assertion that P basket could only have reached L by boat.

Secondly, even if we acknowledge for now that the river has always been broad and deep since the human settlement in L and P, more evidence is needed to help us evaluate whether boats were unavailable in the entire region. The author mentions that no boat was found in P, but gives no information regarding boats in other villages. If new discoveries indicate that L possessed boats, the transportation of P basket by boat was possible and P basket found in L could have been transported in this way. On the contrary, new evidence revealing an absence of boats in the entire River vicinity during this time would help support the conclusion that the P basket are not unique to P.

To summarize, the evidence which the author quotes does not provide conclusive information about the origin of the basket found in L. As a consequence, we need additional information to better evaluate of the author’s claim.