Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found

only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed

to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered

such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The

51

Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by

boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets

were not uniquely Palean.

According to the conclusion, the author claims that the Woven baskets by a particular distinctive pattern which are only be found in the immediate vicinity of the eprehistoric village of Palea were not unique just because the similar have been discovered in Lithos. Although this conclusion is seemingly valid at first glimpse, it still needs some evidence and details to solve its tenuous.

To begin with, the author mentions the Brim River that is very deep and broad, which is difficult to across it for an ancient village. However, the geographical circumstance of the river in ancient is arcane. Is it still deep and broad? Probably no, in all likelihood, this river may be narrow and shallow in ancient times or it not exists in the generation of plea village. Therefore, it is easily to across the river and transport their woven baskets to Lithos, to exclude the possibility, the author should provide more evidence and information to justify the conclusion.

Even though the river still deep and broad in ancient, but it is untenable if no Palean boats have been found. There are a myriad of reasons why boats of using for across were vanished. First, the boats might be decayed. Wooden boats is the technology limitation for ancient people who are likely not to comprehend how to contain these boats decayed by bacteria and fungus and the size of it might be small, just about twenty people, one boat is sufficient to ensure them to across the Brim River. When this village disappeared, the boat also will be destroyed and vanished slightly.

Moreover, if these possibilities are excluded. Village people still can transport the basket by other ways, commercial roads maintaining trades in several villages is general in the history, the eprehistoric village of Palea may be also exchange cargoes including the Woven basket. Therefore, they never need to across the rover to transport the baskets. Making a survey or study of the exist of trade road is necessary to corroborate the accuracy and reliability of this conclusion.

Consequently, the author should to resolve the these possibilities and eliminate them to guarantee the conclusion does hold water.