Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

The author proposes so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean. He or she offers a plausible argument, but it suffers from some logical flaws and gaps in evidence. While the connections suggested are reasonable, there are many other possible scenarios that discourage us suggesting so-called Palean baskets were indeed uniquely Palean.

To begin with, the author assumed that there was no boat which crossed the Brim River because Palean boats have not been found yet. However, there is no reason to believe that the boat actually did not exist. What if the boat's material was rotten by water?, What if the boat was made by heavy materials such as steel that cause the boat to sank? Maybe we just could not find the boat even though it really exits. Thus, we must ask, whether the boat did not exist at all or it just had not been found yet. Without answer of this question, it is hasty to conclude whether "Palean" basket is unique or not.

Let us assume, though, that the boat did not really exist. We are then prompted to ask whether the Brim River was impossible to cross without boat during ancient time. The author assumes that since the Brim River is very deep and broad nowadays, it was impossible to reach Lithos from Palean without boat. However, the passage does not offer information about the Brim River's past feature. There are many precedents for environmental changes such as sea level rise and formation of new river. Therefore, we can not assure that the river was actually inhospitable to cross during prehistoric ages, furthermore we can't assure the Brim River's existence at that time. Without information about Brim River's condition during prehistoric age, therefore, we can not affirm whether the basket is unique for Palean.

Finally, even if we assume that the above assumption will all hold up, we cannot take for granted the author's claim that "Palean" baskets are not distinct for Palean. What if there was intermediate village that imported the baskets from Palean and exported them to Lithos? Also, the author offers no data about whether there were alternative routes from Palean to Lithos. As we all know, there had been many intermediate countries which conduct intermediate trade between two countries. If there really exists intermediate village which can be accessed by Lithos and Palean easily, "Palean" baskets can be delivered to Lithos without boat to cross the river. Likewise, if alternative routes which do not include the river did exist, there is no need to rely on boat to transmit the baskets to Lithos. Therefore, without evidence that the Brim River was the only route between Palea and Lithos and there was no intermediate village, "Palean" baskets may be exclusive property of Palean.

A close examination of all the assumptions made in the author's proposal reveals that there are not enough evidence to claim that "Palean" baskets were not uniquely Palean. Although the proposal certainly points out a possible scenario, it is hasty to assure that the scenario is fact.