Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

The author claims Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean for several reasons. He or she offers an interesting argument, but it suffers from logical flaws and gaps in evidence. While the connections suggested are reasonable, there are many other possible scenarios that should discourage us from assuming that Paleans baskets were indeed not distinct property.

To begin with, the author presents absence of a Palean boats record as the evidence to his or her claim. Yet there is no reason to believe that the boats did not really exist because of the mere fact that we can not found them. There are many explanations that could explain nonappearance of boats even though they really exist. What if the boats were rotten by water or wind because their materials were easy to decay? Or if the boats were made by steel, they may sink under the water too deep for us to detect them. Thus, we must answer the reason why we can not find the trail of canoes before claiming whether Palean baskets were unique or not.

Let us assume, though, that the boats indeed were not being present in Palean. We are then prompted to ask whether it was impossible to reach Lithos from Palean without the boats at prehistoric age. The author assumes that ancient Paleans could reach Lithos only by using boat because Brim River is too deep and broad to pass over currently. However the author offers no information about the prehistoric condition of the river. As we all know there are many environmental changes during history: sea level rise, formation of new lake, etc. Therefore we can not know about past environment condition by current state. Perhaps the river was shallow enough to cross over without any help in the past. What's more it may not exist during the ancient time. Without more thorough information about the past condition of stream, it is hasty to claim that Palean baskets were not exclusive.

Finally, even if we assume that the above assumptions will all hold up, we cannot take for granted the author's claim. What if there is an alternative path which does not include the Brim river between Palean and Lithos? As we all know, there is not only one way to go to other village. There may be alternative path that did not require crossing the river to reach Lithos. If the path really exist and residents in Palean chose the route to deliver their baskets, the baskets could be discovered in Lithos. Therefore, without the fact that there was only one way between these towns, we can not affirm that the baskets were particular for Palean.

A close examination of all the assumption made in the author's assertion reveals that he or she does not have enough justification to claim that Palean baskets were not distinctly Palean. Before we can access to more detailed information and data, it is too quick to claim whether the baskets were exclusive or not.