The following appeared in a memo from a vice president of a manufacturing company.

"During the past year, workers at our newly opened factory reported 30 percent more on-the-job accidents than workers at nearby Panoply Industries. Panoply produces products very similar to those produced at our factory, but its work shifts are one hour shorter than ours. Experts say that fatigue and sleep deprivation among workers are significant contributing factors in many on-the-job accidents. Panoply's superior safety record can therefore be attributed to its shorter work shifts, which allow its employees to get adequate amounts of rest."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The author claims that Panoply's superior safety record is attributed to its shorter work shifts, which allow its employees to get adequate amounts of rests. He or she offers an interesting argument, but it suffers from some logical flaws and gaps in evidence. While connections suggested are reasonable, there are many other possible scenarios that discourage us concluding that relatively few accidents are entailed by shorter work shifts.

To begin with, the author presents that workers at his or her newly opened factory reported 30 percent more on-the-job accidents than workers at Panoply Industries as evidence to his or her claim. Yet the author does not offer how many workers are employed in each factory. Comparing only numbers of accidents without considering the worker populations could be misleading. For example, if workers in his or her company is more than twice of workers employed in Panoply Industries, the ratio of accidents to employed worker has reverse results: His or her company has smaller accidents per workers ratio. Therefore, we need more detailed information such as numbers of hired workers to conclude that Panoply Industries has better safety record.

Let us assume, though that Panoply Industries has really finer safety record. Then we are prompted to ask whether the Panoply's better performance was due to its shorter work shifts. There are many other factors which could cause more accidents. First of all, as author provides that his or her factory opened newly, the worker's lack experience might be the reason. Workers might just need more time to adapt to the new factory. Working environment also could be another reason. The author's factory may have more dangerous or aged machine comparing to Panoply. Finally, Panoply may focus on safety education to workers prior their working. If the factory concentrates more on safety education or safety check before running machines, the incidents of accident could decrease. There are many other reasons that could cause more and fewer accidents. Therefore, it is hasty to determine that few accidents were occurred at Panoply Industries because of their one hour shorter work shifts.

Finally, even if we assume that the above assumptions will all hold up, we cannot take for granted that shorter work shifts will allow its employees an adequate amounts of rest. There are lots of other options than resting which employees can choose when one hour shorter work shifts are provided. For example, Employees may prefer working at other factory than resting when one more hour are allowed. Or they may drink and carouse rather than sleeping at their home. They could be even more fatigue if they shift their works one hour earlier. Therefore, without evidence to the claim that workers would choose to rest if shorter work shifts are allowed, we cannot affirm that shorter work shifts will induce better safety report.

To sum, the author's assumption that shorter work shifts in Panoply makes the industry performs better safety record is logically flawed based on the above mentioned reasons. To strengthen his or her argument, the author should closely all the conditions and possible factors affecting accident incidents. In conclusion, the author's argument reflects unsupported claims without clear reasons or evidence.