The following appeared in a memo from a vice president of a manufacturing company.

During the past year, workers at our newly opened factory reported 30 percent more on-the-job accidents than workers at nearby Panoply Industries. Panoply produces products very similar to those produced at our factory, but its work shifts are one hour shorter than ours. Experts say that fatigue and sleep deprivation among workers are significant contributing factors in many on-the-job accidents. Panoply's superior safety record can therefore be attributed to its shorter work shifts, which allow its employees to get adequate amounts of rest.

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The memo from the vice president describes the situation faced by newly open factories regarding on-the-job accidents. While giving the reason behind this the author describes the Panoply Industries practice of shorter work shifts and infers the reason as lack of rest for the workers. Though the considered factor can be one of the reason, alternative reasoning possibilities cannot be avoided. Thus, due to flawed arguments and lack of pieces of evidence makes the author's statement weak.

The author to prove his point compares the company with the Panoply industries by stating that both manufacture similar product. Manufacturing similar product does not allow us to assume that various prime factors that must be considered also show similar behavior. One must ask whether the instruments used by both the companies are of similar kind, quality, quantity and other factors of comparison? Also, it is possible that both use different methodologies for application, this may bring certain difference in produced item. The production is based on the available workers and there skills, thus, before taking all these factors under consideration the comparison cannot be allowed.

The author with reference to Panoply Industry, assumes that the prime factor responsible for on-the-job accidents is fatigue and sleep deprivation among workers. It can be considered as one of the factor, but alternatives must also be considered. Some of the factors responsible for the accidents can be the degraded quality of instrument usage, some of the hazardous techniques or methods used as a production process, lack of maintenance of the area of the industries or the natural factors affecting area such as disasters, bad-quality roads, and others, also, the carelessness expressed by the workers. It is possible that similar rate of accident was experienced before, so, is not of much significance. Thus, before considering all such possibilities one cannot derive such stated correlation.

The author makes an absurd prediction that reduction of the work shifts and availing more time for rest to the workers, will reduce the rate of accidents. The first thing is before deducing the actual factor of the accident making such a decision will lead to facing losses in the form of less production, less profit, workers becoming less active and lack the interest in work. It is also possible that if some other factors are responsible for the accident, the above action leads to negligence towards those factors and thus, it persists and may harm more adversely in future. Thus, any prediction must be supported with some specific pieces of evidence before it's application.

Finally, the vice president must undergo a detail study of the on-the-job accidents and find out actual factor responsible for it, instead of illogically assuming the it as lack of rest. Also, while considering the Panoply Industries scenarios, one must gather detailed report of there actions and corresponding results to understand it thoroughly.