Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the argument, the author concludes that Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean’s. He arrives at this conclusion based on some evidence which includes the presence of Palean baskets in lithos, and the fact that the baskets could not have gotten to Lithos through any means whatsoever. The evidence cited, if true, might render the argument valid. However, there are three unwarranted assumptions in the author’s claim which hinders the argument’s credibility.

Firstly, the author assumes that because no Palean boats have been found, Palean boats does not exist, and this might not be the case. For instance, it is possible that there are indeed a surfeit of Palean boats but they have secure sites which they do keep them for security purposes. The Palean boats might cost a fortune, and the Paleans might value the security of their boats which makes them very confidential about showcasing the boats. It is possible that they use the boats to travel only in rare cases when there is no other alternative to use. Also, it is possible that the Paleans do use boats as a means of transportation in the ancient, but do not use it again during the time the author was making his claim. If the Paleans no longer use boats again, there it might be the reason why the author claims that no Paleans boats have been seen. If any of these cases proves true, then the author’s claim is significantly weakened.

Secondly, the author assumes that Paleans cannot swim in a deep river, and this might not be the case. It is possible that the majority of the citizens of Palean are very good swimmers, and they are very experienced in swimming deep rivers. If this is true, then even without boats, it is possible for Paleans to have travelled to Lithos and deliver the woven baskets by swimming in the deep river connecting them. If this proves true, then the author claim does not hold water.

Finally, the author assumes that there is no other route to Lithos except through the river that connect both villages, and this might not be true. It is possible that there is another way to get to Lithos without travelling through the river that connects them. There might be a long way which does not involve the one directly facing the two villages. The Paleans might have found this other route and follow through to supply the residents of Lithos the woven basket. If it is true that another route exist between the two villages, then the author’s argument is significantly weakened.

In conclusion, the author’s claim that Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean’s is plausible. However, as it stands now, the author needs to properly address the three assumptions stated above to increase the cogency of his claim.