1. The emergence of the online “blogosphere” and social media has significantly weakened the quality of political discourse in the United States. Reason: When anyone can publish political opinions easily, standards for covering news and political topics will inevitably decline.

Write a response in which you examine your own position on the statement. Explore the extent to which you either agree or disagree with it, and support your reasoning with evidence and/or examples. Be sure to reflect on ways in which the statement might or might not be true, and how this informs your thinking on the subject.

Blogging became a new fashion in the social media platforms. Anyone irrespective of their knowledge, education and identity can create blogs and post news online. This declined the quality of news published and standards of news covered gradually in the society. In the digital platforms, the post which is published can’ t be true checked every single time. This acts as weapon for fraud news and rumors to spread over society. People can’t realize that the news is really not true. Recently, a boy posted an article of a scam being done by their college management during examinations. He posted that the college management is scamming students and sold their question papers. This broke a riot among the student union and protested against this. As this became a huge issue the national regulation committee thoroughly checked the institution’s internal activities and announced it’s clear. Then, the student union apologized for their misleading activities due to a fake post and suspended it. Similar political incidents shook the world in history.

A political party may mislead the public by faking the posts in media leading unfair elections. This blogosphere overtook the news channels popularity and their verified news policies. News channels often verify the news that is being reported with live coverage and with proofs found by reporters on the other hand the bloggers simply write their own views as public news without any proper investigation. Many people even fake their identities and post fake news to mislead society. This provokes religious riots which imbalances a country. Recently, a person tweeted a false accusation on the government about killing wild animals and selling them anonymously. This is protested by animal activists and became a national issue. People lost trust on the government. However, many people argue that blogs are really useful to express their personal views about the political scenarios in the country and many dark sides of the politics. But they should be disclaimed as their personal views instead of being news. So, the standards and the policies of covering news and topics is reduced by the blogosphere.