10. Nations should pass laws to preserve any remaining wilderness areas in their natural state, even if these areas could be developed for economic gain.

Due to the advent of industrialization, environmental problems have become more severe with increasing air pollutions and carbon dioxides. Thus, the author claims that nations should enact regulations to preseve any remaining wilderness areas in their natural state despite of the economic cost. However, the following essay will argue that this may not always be the case.

Admittedly, the author’s recommendation might hold true under certain circumstances. Mountains and forests have been damaged extensively because of the indiscriminate reclamation. A thightening ozon layer, lack of fussel fuels, and persistent toxic substances in the food chain suggest the significant of imposing new laws to preserve remaining natural resources. Law to protect the wildlife and economic sacrifices are inevitable as selfish people who are not aware of the the adverse effects of diminishing wildlife on the earth’s ecosystem recklessy abuse of nature for their economic gain. In addition, financial cost associated with reforestation, relocation of animals, preserving wild animals’ habitas, and research on combating negative effects of land development would be significanly greater than the cost on protecing ecological system. For example, the Four Major Rivers Restoration Projects in South Korea decreased the oxygen level in the river and caused the deforestation. About $ 17 billion and more expensive measured were required to recover the damages from the developoment. Accordingly, as seen the examples above, it is somewhat credible state that governments should enact laws to protect existing wilderness areas.

However, the author’s assertion is not always be prudent as in some cases, development of wilds lands is necessary. Take African coutnries, for example. Many people in African coutnries still suffer from lack of basic food resources, particularily water shortage. It seems that proper development of areas with wildlife might be a kay to improving the availability of vital resources. As human lives are far more important than ecological conservation, it is inevitable to develop fertile lands to provide people with enough drinking water, regardless how much cost it requires when exploing the lands. In such cases, economic disadvantage could the lesser problem but overshadowed by direct life threatening consequences for the populace. Consequently, implemenation of said recommendation has a potential for devastating effects.

Furthermore, a disagree stance seems more favorable considering the possiblity of imposing envriomental protection laws with economic advantage. Amazon in Brazil would be a compelling example. With the efforts of transformation to a modern industrial coutnry, Amazon’s Rainforest was over-exploited, hampered ecological chains and caused substantial environmental issues. With cooperative effort of government and numerous international and local NGOs, the waters from Amazon are being used with more sustainable means, improving the livelihoods of indigenous tribe living in remote regions, and its waterways have been targeted as a critical power supply for multitude of eco-friendly hydroelectric dams. Hence, it is plausible to disagree that safeguarding wild lives comes with economic losses.

In conclusion, all things considered, the idea that nations should create laws to conserve natural environment is partially plausible as discussed above. Since people’s quallity of lives overrides the importance of prtecting the earth, a disagreeing stance is more plausible.