129. Educational institutions should actively encourage their students to choose fields of study in which jobs are plentiful.

This topic raises the controversial issue of whether educational institutions should actively encourage their students to choose filed of study in which jobs are plentiful.

Indisputably, the final goal of study is to provide student to have to apply for the job, therefore, when jobs of that field are plentiful, it’s best field for students to study.

Nevertheless, if most of our students go to study at the same field, then there might be insufficient occupation for this many of students. Thus, I generally disagree the opinion that student should study in some specific fields.

To begin with, I agreed with the idea that the purpose of education is to provide student with the ability to finish the job, therefore, whether fields have plentiful jobs or not is significantly important for students. To illustrate, let’s look at the example of artificial intelligence, which is a subject include inside the department of Computer Science. Since this field is growing rapidly years ago, the needed of computer science engineer also increase. In order to supply the demand of new employees, colleges and US government bolster students to study at Computer Science. As a result, the industries are benefit from increasing graduated students, and students don’t need to worry about finding jobs after graduated. Consequently, it is pretty obvious that the we should suggest our students to study in fields in which jobs are plentiful.

But it’s also worth considering that this virtuous cycle can’t sustain for a long time. Specifically, if most of our students go to study at specific field, then there might be insufficient occupation for this many of students. A good case would also be the fostering filed, artificial intelligence and machine learning. Recently, due to excessive supply of graduated students, while demand of industries remaining the same, some graduated students started can’t finding an occupation. Both common sense and consequences have told us we should contemplate our policy and strategy, that whether we should keep advocate some specific fields for student to study or not.

In conclusion, although study in a field which jobs or plentiful is prospective, but none of us will know when the demand of industries will dramatically decrease, or even the industries become waning. As long as some measurements are performed, or some area involved, we should suggest encourage our student to study at the field that they like. In fact, no matter how the industries become in the future, at least they love the job and the field.