131. Claim: Researchers should not limit their investigations to only those areas in which they expect to discover something that has an immediate, practical application.

Reason: It is impossible to predict the outcome of a line of research with any certainty.

Many argue that the range of researching area should not be limited to only practical and immediate area since no one can exactly expect the outcome of researches with any certainty. I partially agree with this opinion because I know many past accomplishments achieved by studying unlimited areas. However, in the following article, I argue that practically researchers cannot only broaden their researching area but also it is not always desirable.

Admittedly, the given claim seems sound and convincing in that many prominent researches have done by this way. By un-limiting its boundary of studying from practical and immediate area, John Maynard Keynes could come up with new concept of economics called Macro-economics. In 1930, the Great Depression started to sweep the world economy. While many economists tried to figure out the reason and solution of the economic disaster, they could not explain this anomaly, let alone getting a solution. The economy could not easily recovered, so people were mired in severe poverty and unemployment. In this time Keynes focused not on the immediate situation but on the big structure of economy by stepping back from the particular situation. He rebuilt the method and perspective of economic analysis. Based on his theory, government could introduce new way of encouraging economy named New-deal policy and still his theory acts as one major pillar of economic analysis. As this compelling example shows, in many cases, way out of an immediate, practical application can make an eminent accomplishment.

However, in rapidly changing society, the way that has drawn success in the past might not necessarily guarantee today’s success. Also, just from some cases of success, to argue to follow an impractical goal is absurd. First, the distinguishing discrepancy from the past is the depth of today’s studying. From technology advancement and accumulation of researches, the depth of study skyrockets day by day. In this regard, researchers cannot help limiting their studying area due to the limitation of the time and energy. If researchers should confine their field of study and there exist, in rough division, both practical, immediate and impractical and time-consuming area, then does the researcher choose which area? I believe the choice is inevitable and the answer is obvious. Second, the proposition that research should work for well-being of people indicates the appropriateness of limiting researching area to practical region. Usually, researches are conducted by public institution or universities which heavily rely on government tax. So, the researchers owe to public and the only way to pay off the debt is to contribute wellness of people’s life. The way is obviously to produce practical researches improving people’ life. Even though the researches deviated from practical areas would produce benefits to people like Keynes, the changed circumstance makes it more difficult. Considering that originally the possibility for the deviated areas to contribute to society is lower than the practical area, studying for this aggravated expectation of contribution is absurd.

In conclusion, I admit the past achievement from the way claimed in the given sentence, but from both the increasing difficulty and duty for improvement of living, I believe the statement lose the credibility.