1. The main benefit of the study of history is to dispel the illusion that people living now are significantly different from people who lived in earlier times.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The author of the prompt has asserted that the advantage of knowing about the past is recognition of non-difference between the preceding generations and currents one. This is the claim with which I strongly do not concur with. From my perspective, the human being inherently is prone for the developments, and this feature leads to the striking alteration. The following paragraphs will list the most conspicuous changes the mankind has experienced to depict who the nowadays people differ from the previous ones.

The first noteworthy mutation occurs in the physiological aspect. There is a massive division between the current people's body size and the past people's body size. As an instance, if the chew is considered as the comparison factor, this mutation would be more tangible. Meanwhile, in the past the jaw size of mankind was so huge and contained 36 teeth, the modern men possess smaller chew with 28 teeth. This alteration has happened for the sake of diet and eating habits of people. In the past, most of the foods were eaten as raw, which requires bigger and more teeth for grinding and chewing them. On the other hand, by shifting the cooking and eating habit of the people in the modern era, the smaller and fewer teeth could handle the chewing the softer tissues. This is one of the changes which is distinguishable between the past and current era.

Another equally crucial development is mental advancement. In other words, there is a big gap between the modern people’s cognition and the past ones, and the flourished and advanced scientific achievements also verify this fact. This fact is also acceded by a notable intelligence study which is conducted in my country. According to this reliable research, at each decade the ratio of scientific developments is enhanced by twenty percent. This nuance advancement during a ten-year could be an impressive enhancement in a long duration. For example, while the flying was a farfetched dream for our grand grandparents, nowadays men can explore the spaces. Thus, the intelligent and cognition advancement causes striking alteration among the people in the past and current.

However, some people may believe that regardless of time, mankind is prone to doing the mistake, and this inclination leads to the similarities of generations. Although in any period, the human being can inherently do fallacious action, it could not be considered that the repetition of mistake and error makes two-generation to be identical. First of all, the errors done at the two different periods are not same. Indeed, the current comprehensive understanding causes an individual to do not do the naive mistaken done in the past. Secondly, the wise generation at any time relies on the history of its previous generation to not duplicate the same wrong mistake. Therefore, while entire people do mistakes, there are not identical.

To wrap it up, all the aforementioned facts explicitly depict that mankind has experienced the crucial developments which lead to the division from its previous generation.