22. Claim: The best way to understand the character of a society is to examine the character of the men and women that the society chooses as its heroes or its role models.

Reason: Heroes and role models reveal a society's highest ideals.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Understanding the character of a society is a conundrum as the character of a scoiety is defined by the character of it's constituent elements. These constituent elements are individuals that have their own set of charachterstics and behaviour. The author suggests that the best way to understand the character of a society is to study the heroes and role models of the society. However, I do not agree with the author's claim. There are a number of reasons due to which such a study will result in a flawed conclusion.

Firstly, the kind of people public chooses as their heroes and role models vary a lot depending on the age group of the public. Teenagers are more likely to state a pop-star or a movie actor like Justin Beiber or Rihanna as their role models however a person in his late 30s might state a political leader like Narendra Modi or Barak Obama as his role model. Given to such variations, it is difficult to estimate the character of society as a whole by examining characters of their heroes.

Secondly, people usually choose a person as their hero beacause he exhibit an exceptional talant or skill or because of his exceptional work in a particular field. His character as a whole hardly palys a role in this unless he commits an egregious act. For example, Einstein is admired worldwide for his intellect and intellegence. Sigmund Freud is known across the world for his invaluable contributions to the field of psycology. Although these people are highly venerated worldwide but studing the character of society by studying their character is bound to give faulty results.

Thirdly, this study focuses on kind of characteristics admired by the majority. There is still a section of society that will not be included in this study. This section could be as large as 45% of the society. Ignoring such a large section while conducting a study will produce results that only represent a section of the society and thus, will be incomplete.

In conclusion, studying the character of heroes and role models is one way of studying the character of the society but it is not the most efficient way. The results of this study are quite likely to be flawed and incomplete.