2.It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are generated and preserved.

The statement above claims that it is mainly in cities that a nation’s cultural tradition is generated and preserved. I strongly disagree with such a claim because cultural traditions are generated everywhere that a human community exists, and secondly, cities cannot preserve the cultural traditions because industrialization and globalization mainly take place in cities.

To begin with, every human community develops its own cultural traditions to stay united upon them. Cultural traditions are rules that help any society to remain cohesive. People, by doing things that is acceptable and abandonment of taboos, become acceptable members of their society. It is situation that determines social rules and it is thus specific requirement of situations that bring forth to special cultural traditions.

For example, Iranian cultural tradition of marriage was that girls should get married in young ages, no more than twenty years old. This kin of marriage was justifiable because the population was so small and with diseases and lack of hygiene many die before becoming adult. Therefore families should have taken shape as soon as possible and have at least several children that they can save the day. In that cultural tradition, a girl only could have a man in her life as a father, brother, husband, or son. Taboo for Iranian girl was having a boyfriend that would make her be seen as a prostitute. It seems cruel today but in that time, situation were demanding such cultural tradition exist and help communities to thrive.

Now consider what elements can change the cultural traditions to illustrate that it is not cities primarily preserving the cultural traditions. After advancements in medicine, population increased in Iranian nation but still the cultural tradition about girls were intact until the Industrialization and Globalization affect Iranian nation. Industrialization in cities, provided jobs for members of society. Acquiring enough expertise to have decent jobs needed time and that increased the age of marriage for the boys. Girls on the other side were able to become independent because they could have jobs and become independent from families and they could thrive and even help their families economically.

Secondly, globalization with providing people of the world to see other cultures, has made them less bigoted toward their cultural traditions. When Iranian saw that women were as successful as men in doing professional jobs as being dentist, surgeon or engineer, the definition of woman changed in cities. But at the same time it is in rural parts that cultural traditions has remained intact and there still women are treated as a daughter, wife, or mother because both industrialization and globalization is belated to reach in rural parts.

In short, with analyzing the cultural tradition in role of Iranian women , we can realize that in generation of a nation’s cultural tradition, it is situation that determines it regardless that it is in cities or rural parts, furthermore cities cannot primarily preserve a nation’s cultural tradition because of the impact of industrialization and globalization.