3. It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are generated and preserved.

Thesis:For a very diverse country like India there are plenty of traditions belonging to different religions.But these traditions are rooted in the villages of the country and not its cities.

Essay:

In today's time where diversity is at it's highest people from different religions having different traditions are living together.such diversity in tradition is usually found in modern areas as compared to rural villages, but that does not necessarily mean that these traditions are better preserved in cities.

The cultural traditions of a particular nation are usually rooted in rural villages.This is because most of the people even though live in cities,have their family origin in rural areas.The traditions are passed on from one generation to the next and finally reach the modern cities.

The celebrations of different traditions seem to be more pure and relevant to the culture when compared with city life.For example,if we consider the Ganesh Festival in India,it is accompanied with huge loudspeakers playing inappropriate songs as opposed to the culturally appropriate and relevant celebrations like aartis and poojas which are usually observed in villages.Most people in cities want to glamorize and show off their wealth under the pretext of such festivities.For example,my neighbor Mohit spends extravagant amount of money on jewellery and decorations for their Ganesh statue, which is not at all in harmony with respect to the roots of the tradition.Whereas, celebrations in rural villages tend to focus more on bonding with people and celebrating the tradition in it's true sense.

Having said this, it is observed that many of the people migrating to the cities are of a more diverse background, where as in villages people tend to stay within their religious circles.Greater diversity leads to the preservation of traditions from different background.that is, many people don't see a tradition limited to a particular religion.many of my Catholic friends enjoy Holi where as many of my Hindu friends are fond of Christmas.Also people in cities have more financial stability as compared to rural villagers, thus such traditions do not become a financial burden on them which allows citizens to preserve such traditions relatively easier.

As we can see greater diversity in cities does not always imply that the traditions are well preserved in cities.The origin of such traditions is always rooted in the rural parts of a country, where such traditions are followed to their truest sense.