The following appeared on theWeb site Science News Today.

“In a recent survey of more than 5,000 adolescents, the teens who reported eating the most meals with their families were the least likely to use illegal drugs, tobacco, or alcohol. Family meals were also associated with higher grades, better self-esteem, and lower rates of depression. Almost 30 percent of the teens said they ate at least seven meals per week with their families. Clearly, having a high number of family meals keeps teens from engaging in bad behaviors.”

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The hypothesis tries to establish a relation between the number of family meals and the overall behavior of the adolescent.But, Science News Today does not back it up with any substantial amount of proof, instead there are plenty of ambiguities that can be observed in their hypothesis.

Firstly,the science news today says that they carried out a survey of 5,000 adolescents in order to co-relate their behavior and the number of family meals the children eat.The argument does not specify the region in which the survey was conducted.i.e were all the adolescents a part of a particular neighborhood or were they spread out in different parts of the country or cities.If they reside in the same neighborhood then, it may play a role in their likeliness to use drugs.Thus, the first point itself does not provide any substantial proof to link the number of family meals and drug usage. Also we have no idea of the significance of the survey i.e is a survey of 5,000 adolescents enough to extrapolate the result to a more generalized form?.

The next point of the argument tries to establish a relation between the number of family meals and characteristics of the adolescents like their grades or mental health.But it fails to consider the varying nature of each and every family which could be impacting the performance and personal life of adolescents. For e.g. some families might be abusive or may not treat their children fairly which can have a direct effect on their grades and anxiety or depression levels.Also factors such as divorced parents also affect the mental health of the child. Thus, we cannot say with utmost confidence that having more meals as a family will have a positive impact on the adolescents.

The third part of the argument says that 30% of adolescents who eat at least 7 family meals in a weak do not indulge in bad behavior,but provides no basis for it. For all we know the number of family meals may not have any impact on the behavior of children. Instead factors such as how the adolescent is raised by his parents , or the level of education may have a serious impact on their conduct.

While the results deduced by science news today could be true, there remain many unexplored variables which should be taken into consideration before coming to a strong conclusion.