3. It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are generated and preserved.

To claim that it is mainly in cities that a nation’s cultural tradition is generated and preserved, as the statement above does, is a flawed assertion. As it will be discussed, it is a matter of desire that a culture is generated and is preserved regardless that it is in cities or rural parts. Furthermore, especially in cities the cultural traditions are harder to be preserved because of the changes brought by industrialization.

To begin with, established trends transmitted from one generation to another becomes cultural traditions. This is the origin of cultural traditions, people develop trends which are found complying with their own needs and it becomes cultural traditions. Otherwise the trends wane. To illustrate this point, consider the cultural tradition of marriage in younger ages in the past of Iran comparing to marriage in older ages nowadays.

In the past century in Iran, it was a cultural tradition for girls to get married right after the puberty _nearly sixteen years old. This was because a wife should have had several children. Half of the children die for the lack of proper hygiene. The survived children were required to be used in the farms, gardens and so on. Therefore, having a boyfriend or girlfriend was wasting of time as the product of such relations is not making children. It was a social taboo to have such relations.

However, the demands of the life are not perpetually consistent. People’s desires change and with them cultural tradition changes. After industrialization, it was no need to make several children and bring them up to be helpful to the families in farms, mines, or jungles. A man was capable to do the works with machines with the power of electricity and fuels. Age of marriage has elevated in Iran because Of such changes. Furthermore, the woman is not necessarily confined to the kitchen and taking care of children, since she can work shoulder to shoulder of the men. By that independence for women, the taboo of having a boyfriend is also shattered in the cities where the industrialization had more impacts.

Finally, between smaller parts of a country and cities, it is not the latter one in which cultural traditions are preserved. Cities are mainly exposed to cultural changes. While marginal parts are more intact. In Iranian society, still in the rural parts the cultural tradition of marriage in younger ages is common and the prejudices about making families is remained intact. While it is in cities the new culture is becoming acceptable of having a girlfriend-boyfriend relationships.

In short, the rise and fall of the cultural traditions are tied to the changes in people's desires. Where a culture does not comply with the needs of a society, it will be substituted or changed. Moreover, cities are much more vulnerable to be affected by the global changes like industrialization. Thus, cultural traditions could hardly be preserved in the cities while in marginal part can be maintained more readily.