43. The increasingly rapid pace of life today causes more problems than it solves.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

With the development of technology, the pace of life is being faster and faster. This quick speed of life is like a double-edged sword, it can both solve and cause the problem. Between these two opinions, I agree with the claim that the increasingly rapid pace of life today causes more problems than it solves.

Granted, the quick pace of life solves some problems, instead of causing the problem. Communication speed is one of the factors that is being faster with the increasing pace of life. Because the people can contact to others anytime, anywhere they want, they can get help in many aspects such as getting additional information or releasing mental stress. Especially in heavy stress circumstances, just small chitchat with his or her friend can be helpful to relieve the stress. This is being possible with the fast pace of life. Thus, the rapid pace of life can solve some problems in few aspects.

However, the quick pace of life causes a problem in the aspect of the generation gap. Even though there was not a substantial difference in the lifestyle between the elder and the young in the past, there is a substantial difference between the elder and the young in the present due to the fast speed of life. This difference causes the conflict between two generations, namely the generation gap, which is the big social problem nowadays. Therefore, the rapid pace of life cause the problem in case of the generation gap.

In addition, the quick pace of life even makes our life desolate. With the increasing speed of life, people lost their time to care about other people. They are so busy that they only can concern about their work only. Sometimes, a few greetings to other unknown people can be surprisingly helpful to make others happy. Nowadays, due to the busy life of the people, short greetings are being harder and harder. Accordingly, the rapid pace of life make our life more desolate, which have an adverse effect to people’s life.

In perspective of the communication, generation gap, and desolate life, I agree with the claim that the problem caused by the increasingly quick speed of life today is more than solved. I believe that just a bit of slowdown in the pace of life can make people’s life happier than before.