45. Competition for high grades seriously limits the quality of learning at all levels of education.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

It is undenible fact that overdone in-class competition sometimes deteriorate the quality of education. Every single class has a purpose of equipping students with knowledge and skill the course tries to deliver. When competition is imposed to students, they pursue merely the best score, which may not be what instructor intended. A literature class, for instance, has a fundamental purpose of providing students with a artistic taste of literature and sense beauty, and ultimately cultural sophistication. Exams and competition, however, urges students approach literature by memorizing, not by feeling and enjoying, which significantly adulterate literature education itself. Regardless of how they perform well in the exam, students anyway fail to learn how beautiful a literature is. In this sense, competition can deviate education to unexpected, or even undesirable ways.

However, we should keep mind that motivation needs to be given to students to make them practice in many courses. Given that formal education has mandatory aspects to some extent, few student would try hard to hone their knowledge when nothing pushes them to study. Subjects like Math, for example, require heavy training and practice to be utilized in the future, which most students feel tedious and reluctant to do without any competition. Exams and assignments in this situation properly motivate them to read through textbook, solve problem sets, and practice their skill. It would help them deal with real world problem with better skills after graduation. Likewise, enough level of pressure should be given to students to accomplish their academic purposes.

In these senses, while competition may have unexpected side effects in education, educators should make appropriate use of it as a way of motivating students to study and encouraging practice. Idealistic dream where every student voluntarily tries hard to learn without any intervention is far from the reality. It is task of educators to cultivate people with common senses, citizenship, and hopefully potential professional skills, which cannot be accomplished with laissez-faire approach. instructors should give concrete goals and ways to students to elicit their potential. Aside from in-class motivation, on top of that, it is hard to say insulation from competition is beneficial for students because they are destinied to compete for living in the society. Hence, it is hard to say that grade competition limits the quality of learning because competition comprises one of key components of education system.

In conclusion, the statement overlooks which role competition does in education, and groundlessly denigrate it as a source of deterioration, which I think is not cogent.