"In this age of intensive media coverage, it is no longer possible for a society to regard any living man or woman as a hero. The reputation of anyone who is subjected to media scrutiny will eventually be diminished."

In general, I agree with the assertion that the intensive media scrutiny eventually diminishes the reputation of the person who is regarded as a hero by the society. Today, in every field, there is a large amount of competition. People can do anything for getting success and to elevate their status in society. Once they get success, they are considered as a hero by the public. For that, they follow either easier way or right way.

The chief reason why I agree with the statement is that media always try to find negative values of the public figure either heroic or not.

Once they find out any point that defames the person's reputation, they make it widespread through different communication media like television, radio, etcetera. This causes the reputation of that person diminished. And once the reputation is slandered, then it is forever tarnished even though the person is vindicated from the cause. The latest example is Lance Armstrong, cycling legend. Once people discovered that he was taking drugs then it causes severe criticism in society. So, once his reputation is tarnished, he would not restore his reputation even if he would be vindicated from blame.

The second reason is that the media is a price-seeking entity. It always makes sure to increase its profit. For that, they can go over any extent. Moreover, they always try to create controversy between people. Sometimes, people take the support of media by giving money either for not to reveal the incident that defames them or to defame their competitors. And the media also helps them for doing so. So, they publish wrong information instead of the original one. This causes criticism in society. So, it is no longer possible for society to regard any man or woman as a hero.

However, there are certain heroes who are heroes in real life. They have chosen the right way of getting that success. For example, Sachin Tendulkar, a famous Indian cricketer. He is the only cricketer in the world who has scored hundred international centuries. His life is very clean and focused. He was always trying to make himself better over and over. He has never tried to defeat his competitor. Today people and even media salute him because he is a pure and transparent hero.

In sum, the society should be cautious in selecting someone as their idol. And also media should remain unbiased for gathering the original information and should make them widespread in the society. So that people can get the right information and real heroes would not be criticized.