In this age of intensive media coverage, it is no longer possible for a society to regard any living man or woman as a hero.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The hero is the one who is adored by many people and have significant influence in the lives of the people following him/her. Medias not only bring the positive aspects but also reveal the negative aspects of the celebrities; which in fact, sometimes diminish the popularity of hero among the people. Therefore, I am mostly dissonant with the prompt above.

To begin, sometimes the fame of the hero might get to the nadir of his career due to the media coverage of his dark sides. For instance, take Paul Shah who was one of the prolific actor of Nepal but recently people barely like him; it was because of the recent controversy regarding rape case. Although he is justified of being not guilty, he is still unable to get out of the predicament; and he is rarely getting any role in the movies and music videos. So, in rare cases intensive media coverage can degrade the prestige and career of the hero.

However, in most of the cases media plays as positive catalyst to reach the eminence of their career. For instance, Cristano Ronaldo one of the greatest footballer of all time is more famous because of the social media. He has over 500 million of followers in Instagram and millions of followers in other platforms like facebook, twitter, etc. Media has brought his exercise and eating habits, which people like a lot and people can get incentives to do hard work. People regard him as the epitome of hard work and success.

Like Ronaldo, Dr. Sanduik Ruit is one of the brilliant ophthalmologist of the world. He has cured over eighty thousands of eye patients (suffering from eye cataract), mostly belonging to the Asia and Africa, in cheap price that even the poorest person can afford. For this work, he has been awarded with the Asian equivalent of novel price. I came to know about him by reading him in the newspaper. People get to know the people like him though the news and media coverage and media help them to become public hero.

In sum, sometimes it is possible that the intensive media coverage has cons on the life of hero, but the pros of it far undermine its negative sides as mentioned above.