An ailing patient should have easy access to his or her doctor’s record of treating similarly afflicted patients. Through gaining such access, the ailing patient may better determine whether the doctor is competent to treat that medical condition

A doctor's success in his chosen field will be determined by the way he has treated his patients over his tenure. He will meet and treat hundreds of people in a month who need remedy for their diseases. However, if the doctor can share his past experiences and his record of treating to his novel patients, it would be a great advantage both to the doctor and the patient. Thus, I agree wiith the notion that an ailing patient must have access to the track record of the doctor who he reaches out to.

To begin with, if the doctor shares his past experiences, the patient can feel confident over his doctor. A widely known fact in the realm of the medical sciences is that a disease will be healed successfully if both the patient and the doctor have a mutual coordination and the ailing patient must be mentally fit. To achive this, the patient must have a belief in the doctor who treats him. For instance, there is a recent article in the public magazine that a patient who is suffering from cancer has lost all his hopes on his life. However, when he was treated by a world class doctor who has achieved many accolades in treating the disease, the patient survived. Even if the patient reached out to other doctors, there will not be much of difference in the Chemotherapy techniques used. However, the belief of the patient on the doctor has made him triumph over the disease.

Secondly, when a new patient is provided the analysis of the doctors experience in treating various patients of similar diseases, he can reach out to the people who were already treated and can choose other alternatives. Consider the case of a patient who is suffering from the sinus disease. The way of treatment for this disease depends on the doctor. Some doctors will heal it using medicines over a long period of time while others suggest surgery. Though both of the techniques ultimate aim is to heal the disease, a novice patient might be confounded to opt one technique. During this imbrogligo situation, the patient could meet the people who were already treated by using both the techniques under different doctors individually and come to a conclusion, taking the doctor's experience also into consideration.

In contrast, there will be some confidential information which cannot be revealed to the outside world in the medical field. This kind of information cannot be shared to the novice patients who require the treatment. Consider the example of neurological surgeries in which the treatment must be made depending on the condition of the patient. If the patient is not confident about the doctors ability, it would further debilitate his condition. At such instances, it is better not to reveal any doctors experience or past record.

To conclude, there are certain conditions when the doctor's record helps the patient to know whtether the doctor is capable of treating the disease or not. However, if the idea backfires during certain times, caution must be taken not to reveal any information.