An ailing patient should have easy access to his or her doctor’s record of treating similarly afflicted patients. Through gaining such access, the ailing patient may better determine whether the doctor is competent to treat that medical condition.

The following statement argues that sick patients should have access to their doctor's treatment plan for patients with similar sicknesses as a means to examine their doctor's competency and knowledge in regards to their personal case. While this statement may seem logical, this strategy could not be successful because of several healthcare policies.

First, the statement disregards a staple healthcare policy of doctor-patient confidentiality. In the American Healthcare system, every patient signs a HIPA Waiver, in which they acknowledge the healthcare system will not share their personal medical records to anyone except for those directly involved in the patient's treatment. The state only makes exceptions for those whom the signer explicitly states can obtain their medical records (i.e. family members, friends). By allowing patients access to other patients' medical records, this would be violating the HIPA policy. Overall, making the strategy impossible to employ.

Second, the statement also disregards the rigorous education and training that doctors pursue in order to obtain their license and practice medicine. In order to become a qualified and competent doctor, one must first obtain a bachelor's degree that fulfills all pre-requisites for medical school (i.e. biology, chemistry, etc.), then must attend a 4-year medical school program in which they learn the foundation of medicine. Once, one has graduated from medical school, one must finish residency where they will receive hands-on experience of the topics and subjects of which they studied prior. From there, one can choose whether to continue on to more specificity or start practicing medicine. In between these stages are several different levels of testing as well where doctors cannot pass onto the next stage without passing the test.This whole process is up to 10 years of schooling post high school. The thoroughness of the medical education is to create assurance for patients that their doctor is as competent as possible. For this reason,the level and quality of education and years of practice are a much more accurate sign of a doctor's competency than their past patient's record.

Third, despite patient's having similar illnesses, a sickness can manifest in different patients in different ways which can result in various symptoms, medications, procedures. Every patient varies in biology, career, diet, social environment, etc. All these aspects can and will affect the way in which a sickness appears on a person. In some cases, one patient's immune system is stronger than others, and as a result may fight a sickness and recover faster than others. This is not an indication of a doctor's competency.

The logic of this statement stems from the understanding that to past can be used to better predict the future can help aid the present. However, from the medical education alone of a doctor, this logic is already addressed. Doctors do not practice medicine blindly. They study previous case-studies of actual patients. Therefore, the doctor has competent knowledge and experience in most illnesses just through their education alone. Years of practice only strengthen this notion.

In conclusion, the best strategy to asses the competency of a doctor to treat a particular medical condition would not be in reviewing past medical records, but explore the doctor's educational background.